LIBRARY: Annotated Bibliography

Example 1: A citation followed by an annotation:

Bruffee, K.A. (1985), A short course in writing: practical rhetoric for teaching composition through collaborative learning (3rd ed), Boston: Little, Brown & Company.

Kenneth Bruffee’s Short Course in Writing has become a classic in the genre of collaborative learning and teaching. It contains exercises and accompanying notes for writers and teachers to be used in the context of the collaborative classroom. The book is divided into five parts, plus a set of model essays. The first two parts contain essay exercises that introduce students to the basic issues in essay writing: discovering a topic, generalising it, and either defending or explaining it. Parts four and five introduce students to the more complex issues in essay writing: demonstrating the importance or relevance of an argument and researching a topic. Between these two sections, part three contains most of the explicitly instructional material in the book.

This is the most helpful section of the book for teachers who wish to have a better understanding of the principles underlying collaborative group work and peer review, as well as good examples of what can be done. Bruffee’s clearly written and accessible text, with its extensive collection of exercises and model essays in a variety of genres, is an essential reference tool for anyone engaged in collaborative teaching and learning.

Source: University of Canberra (2012) Annotated Bibliography, Canberra, accessed 16 February 2014, URL: no longer available (2017).

Example 2: An annotated bibliography (using APA/Harvard method):

Look for this database on the 'Find Information' tab and search for the following examples:

Example: Biblio Barrow Island : An Annotated Bibliography of the natural history of Barrow Island 1622 - 2004.